Captain Amrinder announces nine new cabinet ministers name


New Delhi: Congress chief Rahul Gandhi approved Punjab’s nine new cabinet ministers’ names in a meeting with state chief minister Amarinder Singh.

The swearing-in of the new Punjab ministers will take place at Raj Bhawan on Saturday at 6 pm.

The nine new ministers are Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa, Sukhbinder Singh Sarkaria, Vijay Inder Singla, Bharat Bhushan Ashu, Sunder Sham Arora , OP Soni, Rana Gurmeet Sodhi , Gurpreet Kangar , and Balbir Sidhu.

Amarinder Singh tweeted the announcement of the new ministers and congratulated them.

Aruna Chaudhary and Razia Sultana, both ministers of state, will also be elevated as Cabinet ministers, Amarinder said in another tweet.

Capt Amarinder Singh held a second round of discussion with Rahul Gandhi today before announcing the names. They held a similar meeting on Thursday, where Amarinder was asked by Rahul Gandhi to provide the seniority list of the MLAs. The expansion has been pending for a long time and many senior MLAs were eyeing a ministerial berth.

At present there are nine ministers, including Amarinder Singh, and with nine new ministers, the Punjab government will touch the maximum strength of 15 per cent of the state assembly.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here