Delhi civic polls: Voting continue, Lt Governor Anil Baijal, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and Manish Sisodia casting their vote


New Delhi: Delhi’s Lt Governor Anil Baijal, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and his deputy Manish Sisodia casting their vote during Delhi Municipal polls.

The Delhi Municipal polls appear to be a triangular high-octane contest between the BJP, the AAP and the Congress.

Arvind Kejriwal and his family show their ink-marked fingers at a polling booth in New Delhi

More than 1.3 crore people are eligible to vote in the civic elections, spread over 13,000 polling stations across the city.

Polling began at 8 am amid tight security arrangements across the city.

People were seen standing in long queues in Delhi’s Pandav Nagar area even as the pace of voting at some polling booths was slow.

Kejriwal, accompanied by his parents, wife and daughter, reached a polling booth in North Delhi’s Civil Lines area to cast vote. Kejriwal’s daughter, Harshita, voted for the first time.

Asked whether the MCD elections were a referendum on the AAP government’s two-year performance in Delhi, Kejriwal said, “We will see as the results will come out on Wednesday.” Baijal cast his vote at a polling station in Greater Kailash-3. Union Minister Harsh Vardhan also voted in his Krishna Nagar constituency.

Sisodia, after exercising his franchise in East Delhi’s Patparganj constituency, said that Delhi was voting against poor sanitation management.

Out of the 13,022 polling stations, the police have declared 3,284 as sensitive and 1,464 as hyper-sensitive.

There are a total of 1,32,10,206 voters entitled to exercise their franchise in electing councillors for the wards falling under the three civic bodies—North Delhi Municipal Coporation (104), South Delhi Municipal Corporation (104) and East Delhi Municipal Corporation (64).

Voting will be held till 5 pm. Counting of votes will be held on April 26.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here