Relief for AAP: HC rejects Election Commission recommendation for disqualifying MLAs


New Delhi: As per media reports the Delhi High Court on Friday granted a major relief to Aam Aadmi party, rejected the Election Commission recommendation disqualifying 20 ruling party  MLAs in an office-of-profit case.

The court asked the Election Commission to hear the case afresh because the MLAs were not given proper hearing before the poll panel decided on their disqualification.

The case was now referred back to the Election Commission for reconsideration.

The MLAs were disqualified for holding office-of-profit when they were appointed Parliamentary Secretaries.

Arwind Kejriwal

The 20 MLAs are Adarsh Shastri (Dwarka), Alka Lamba (Chandni Chowk), Anil Bajpai (Gandhi Nagar), Avtar Singh (Kalkaji), Kailash Gahlot (Najafgarh)–who is also a minister–Madan Lal (Kasturba Nagar), Manoj Kumar (Kondli), Naresh Yadav (Mehrauli), Nitin Tyagi (Laxmi Nagar), Praveen Kumar (Jangpura), Rajesh Gupta (Wazirpur), Rajesh Rishi (Janakpuri), Sanjeev Jha (Burari), Sarita Singh (Rohtas Nagar), Som Dutt (Sadar Bazar), Sharad Kumar (Narela), Shiv Charan Goel (Moti Nagar), Sukhbir Singh (Mundka), Vijendar Garg (Rajinder Nagar) and Jarnail Singh (Tilak Nagar)

The notification with the President’s assent was issued on January 21 saying “…Having considered the matter in the light of the opinion expressed by the Election Commission, I, Ram Nath Kovind, President of India, in exercise of the powers…do here hold that the aforesaid 20 members of the Delhi legislative assembly stand disqualified from being members of the said assembly.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here